School Districts in North Carolina
U.S. · 376 locations

There are 376 School Districts in North Carolina as of September 2026.

Every school district in North Carolina — 376 local education agencies from the federal district collection, with the district office address, phone, website and map coordinates, the number of schools, enrolment, grade range, teacher and administrator counts, county and metro area, and the full finance block: revenue and spending lines, per-pupil spending, Title I, Impact Aid, special-education student counts and E-Rate commitments where they can be matched.

More about this list

No contact names. One row is one local education agency, located at its administrative office — 376 of them, a cut of the national file limited to North Carolina. It is built from the federal Common Core of Data, the NCES EDGE district-office geocode, the Census/NCES F-33 school district finance survey, the Department of Education's IDEA Section 618 special-education counts, and USAC's published E-Rate commitments. US federal government data, public domain. Nothing in it was bought, licensed or taken from another company's product. Measured on every row of this file: a street address on 100.0%, a phone number on 100.0%, a website on 68.8%, map coordinates on 100.0%, the number of schools on 100.0%, enrolment on 89.3%. 209 columns in all, and the page lists the fill rate for each one. On the record: we compare every file to the fullest published competitor list before selling it and require 80.0% of their fields. This one measures 79.1% against MCH Strategic Data — School District dictionary, 163 fields (151 institution + 12 person), read on mchdata.com 2026-09-15. QUOTE-ONLY: MCH publishes no price, so there is no 20% anchor, only a field bar. and is short by 2 fields, so it was released by an explicit decision rather than by passing the bar. 28 of 163 MCH fields are not federally published for any LEA — 16 Calendar Dates and the 12 named-person fields. The ceiling against this dictionary is therefore 82.8%, not 100%. Of the fields that can be obtained at all, this file has 95.6%.

376Locations
1State
209Data Fields
September 15, 2026File built

Need just some of them? Ask in your own words.

●Where the rows are

Map of where the School Districts in North Carolina are
One dot for every ZIP code with at least one location. Ask above for any part of it: a state, a city, a distance.

≡Sample Data Preview

school-district-list-nc.csvscroll →UTF-8
nameaddresscitystatezipphonewebsitelea idstate lea idschool typeagency typeagency type textagency levelagency charter indicatoroperational statusoperational status dateaddress2zip4state namestate fipscensus regioncensus divisionschool yearstate agency numbermailing addressmailing citymailing statemailing zipmailing zip4countycounty fipslocalelocale textschool level codeschool level textgrades offeredupdated statuscbsacbsa namecbsa typecsacsa namecongressional districtstate leg district lowerstate leg district uppersupervisory union numberaffiliationbureau indian educationout of state flagnumber of schoolsgrade rangelowest grade offeredhighest grade offeredenrollmentreference yearenrollment pre Kenrollment kindergartenenrollment elementaryenrollment high schoolenrollment ungradedenrollment adult edenrollment grade1enrollment grade2enrollment grade3enrollment grade4enrollment grade5enrollment grade6enrollment grade7enrollment grade8enrollment grade9enrollment grade10enrollment grade11enrollment grade12enrollment grade13enrollment maleenrollment femalestudents american indianpct students american indianstudents asianpct students asianstudents blackpct students blackstudents hispanicpct students hispanicstudents pacific islanderpct students pacific islanderstudents two or morepct students two or morestudents whitepct students whiteteachers total fteteachers prek fteteachers kindergarten fteteachers elementary fteteachers secondary fteteachers ungraded fteguidance counselors total fteguidance counselors elem fteguidance counselors sec fteschool counselors fteschool psychologists ftelibrarian specialists ftelibrarian support staff ftelea administrators ftelea admin support staff fteschool administrators fteschool admin support staff fteinstructional aides fteinstructional coordinators ftestudent support staff fteother support staff fteother staff ftelea staff total fteschool staff total ftestaff total fteteachersstudent teacher ratiorev totalrev federal totalrev state totalrev local totalrev fed title Irev fed idearev fed career techrev fed supporting effective instructionrev fed student supportrev fed21st century learningrev fed rural low incomerev fed bilingual educationrev fed child nutritionrev fed other thru staterev fed impact aidrev fed indian educationrev fed small rural achievementrev fed other directrev state general formularev state special educationrev state compensatoryrev state career techrev state school mealsrev state capital outlayrev state transportationrev state other programsrev local property taxesrev local parent governmentrev local sales taxesrev local from other school systemsrev local from cities countiesrev local tuition feesrev local school mealsrev local interest earningsexp totalexp current elsecexp instructionexp support servicesexp other current elsecexp capital outlayexp non elsecexp support studentsexp support instructional staffexp support general adminexp support school adminexp operation maintenanceexp student transportationexp food servicesexp constructionexp instructional equipmentexp other equipmentexp salaries totalexp salaries instructionexp employee benefits totalexp interest on debtexp payments to charter schoolsfinance fiscal yearfinance fall membershipper pupil current spendingper pupil instructionper pupil support servicesper pupil total revenueimpact aid revenuereceives impact aiderate funding yearerate commitmentserate funding requestserate commitments3yrerate funding requests3yridea part bstudentsidea part bearly childhoodidea part bschool ageidea child count yearlocale share city11locale share city12locale share city13locale share sub21locale share sub22locale share sub23locale share town31locale share town32locale share town33locale share rural41locale share rural42locale share rural43geo precisioncounty fipsaddress qualitycountrylatitudelongitudesource url
NC Health and Human Services803 Biggs DrRaleighNC27603(919) 855-4713http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dsohf3700001NC-997State-operated agency5State operated agencyOtherNot a charter districtOpen05/07/2025North Carolina37SouthSouth Atlantic2024-2025013006 Mail Service CenterRaleighNC276993006Wake County3718311City, LargePK,KG,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,UGOpen39580Raleigh-Cary, NC1450Raleigh-Durham-Cary, NC37023703837015No0PK-13PK132024-2025202340402024-2025source37183completeUS35.766421-78.656113https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/files.asp
Piedmont Community Charter2596 Robinwood RoadGastoniaNC28054(704) 853-2428http://www.pccharter.org3700104NC-36BCharter school agency7Independent charter districtOtherLEA for IDEAOpen05/07/2025North Carolina37SouthSouth Atlantic2024-202501PO Box 3706GastoniaNC28054Gaston County3707113City, Small03Elementary-secondary school systemKG,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12Open16740Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC1172Charlotte-Concord, NC-SC37143710937043No1K-12KG1219632024-20251341199630137137136137164162164162163160153154937102610.1291.538319.546023.400.01336.895748.8128.898.5086.6433.754.003.001.000.000.00128.8915.22026400023740001307700048130002190004880000250001300000006300000009990001294800000000012900002578000001347000183390001508300010037000504600003256000089700055400077000140800014170009000038100032300025520009866000715200025220000020231906791352662647106320No2252252024-202500100000000000source37071completeUS35.228232-81.153413https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/files.asp
Henderson Collegiate1071 Old Epsom RdHendersonNC27536(252) 598-1038http://hendersoncollegiate.org3700319NC-91BCharter school agency7Independent charter districtOtherLEA for IDEAOpen05/07/2025North Carolina37SouthSouth Atlantic2024-2025011071 Old Epsom RdHendersonNC27536Vance County3718132Town, Distant03Elementary-secondary school systemKG,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12Open25780Henderson, NC2450Raleigh-Durham-Cary, NC37013703237011No1K-12KG1213342024-202510484138910510596108105104109109109103948365967510.1261.981060.737728.310.1634.7564.295.963.5058.5333.934.331.333.000.000.0095.9613.9208090003600000113000005909000637000158000087000630000380000789000182800000001130000000000000205200000700019979000151350008551000568200090200048440000768000634000531000211600080000037400090200064800021000417500078270004991000315700000202313201146664784305157640No86862024-202500000001000000source37181completeUS36.309808-78.39641https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/files.asp
Iredell Charter Academy of Arts & Scienc251 Home Improvement StreetTroutmanNC28166(704) 508-01043700400NC-49GCharter school agency7Independent charter districtElementaryLEA for IDEAOpen05/07/2025North Carolina37SouthSouth Atlantic2024-202501251 Home Improvement StreetTroutmanNC28166Iredell County3709741Rural, Fringe01Elementary school system onlyKG,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8Open16740Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC1172Charlotte-Concord, NC-SC37103708437037No1K-8KG087952024-2025996961129897927482717037641920.3212.613316.714217.910.18610.841051.619.802.2517.550.000.440.220.000.220.0019.8040.2694600082800043810001737000610001980000160001100000030600023600000004381000000000001325000021000250007013000590300033590002275000269000111000002730001240002100006310006420001350002690004000057000031550002595000649000002023627941553573628110780No1141142024-202500000000010000source37097completeUS35.664662-80.847793https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/files.asp
Aspire Trade High School7125 Hambright RdHuntersvilleNC28078(980) 399-7554http://aspiretradehs.org3700481NC-62NCharter school agency7Independent charter districtSecondaryLEA for IDEAOpen05/07/2025North Carolina37SouthSouth Atlantic2024-2025017125 Hambright Rd.HuntersvilleNC28078Mecklenburg County3711921Suburb, Large9,10,11Open16740Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC1172Charlotte-Concord, NC-SC37143710137038No19-1109112702024-202527012398491987200.041.510037.08431.100.0248.95821.513.6713.671.001.000.000.0013.6719.8202364642024-202500010000000000source37119completeUS35.377844-80.906664https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/files.asp
Five sample rows; the file you buy has all 209 columns.

{}What's in each row

FieldWhat it isRows filled
nameThe district's official name as published in the federal district directory for the 2024-2025 school year.100%
leaIdThe seven-character NCES local education agency ID, the federal key for this district, kept as text so the leading zero on states 01 through 09 survives.100%
stateLeaIdThe identifier the district's own state uses for it, as reported to the federal directory.100%
schoolTypeThe kind of agency this is in plain words, read off the federal agency-type code, such as a regular local school district, a supervisory union, a regional education service agency or a charter school agency.100%
agencyTypeThe federal agency-type code itself, a single digit from 1 to 9, which the schoolType column spells out.100%
agencyTypeTextThe federal directory's own wording for the agency type, carried through unchanged.100%
agencyLevelThe level the federal directory assigns the agency, one of Elementary, Middle, High, Other, Not applicable or Not reported.100%
agencyCharterIndicatorWhether the agency is a charter district and in what capacity, in the directory's own words, such as not a charter district, charter agency for federal programs, or charter agency for special education.100%
operationalStatusWhether the agency was open, closed, new, inactive, future or a changed boundary at the time of the federal collection.100%
operationalStatusDateThe date that operational status took effect, as a month/day/year date from the federal directory.100%
addressThe street address of the district's administrative office, not a school campus.100%
address2The second address line of the district office, such as a suite or floor, present on only 2.0% of rows because most offices do not have one.2%
cityThe city of the district office, corrected during cleanup to the Census spelling for its postcode and standardised for capitalisation.100%
stateThe two-letter state or territory code of the district office.100%
zipThe five-digit postcode of the district office, kept as text so a leading zero is not lost.100%
zip4The four-digit postcode extension of the district office, filled on 58.2% of rows because the federal directory does not carry it for every district.19%
countryThe country, which is United States on every row in this file.100%
stateNameThe full name of the state or territory, written in title case.100%
stateFipsThe two-digit federal state code, the standard numeric code for the state.100%
censusRegionThe Census region the district's state sits in — Northeast, Midwest, South or West — assigned from the state code using the standard federal grouping.100%
censusDivisionThe Census division the district's state sits in, such as New England or Pacific, assigned from the state code using the standard federal grouping.100%
schoolYearThe school year this directory record describes, which is 2024-2025 throughout.100%
stateAgencyNumberThe state agency number from the federal directory, which identifies the state education agency the district reports through.100%
mailingAddressThe district's mailing address where it differs from the street address, which for many rural offices is a post office box.100%
mailingCityThe city of the district's mailing address.100%
mailingStateThe two-letter state code of the district's mailing address.100%
mailingZipThe five-digit postcode of the district's mailing address, kept as text.100%
mailingZip4The four-digit postcode extension of the mailing address, filled on 61.2% of rows.30%
phoneThe district office's main telephone number as published in the federal directory.100%
websiteThe district's own website address, published on 87.7% of rows; a blank means the federal directory carries no website for that district.69%
latitudeThe latitude of the district's administrative office in decimal degrees, from the federal district-office geocode file.100%
longitudeThe longitude of the district's administrative office in decimal degrees, from the federal district-office geocode file.100%
countyThe county the district office sits in, taken from the federal geocode file and set or corrected during cleanup from the office coordinates, with a county recorded by the source kept when it is a real county in that state.100%
countyFipsThe five-digit federal county code for the district office, from the federal district-office geocode file.100%
localeThe two-digit federal urban-centric locale code for the district office, from 11 for a large city through 43 for remote rural.100%
localeTextThe locale code written out, such as City Large, Suburb Midsize, Town Remote or Rural Distant.100%
schoolLevelCodeThe two-digit school-level code the district reports on the federal finance survey, filled on 97.8% of rows.88%
schoolLevelTextThe school-level code written out — elementary only, secondary only, elementary-secondary, vocational or special education, non-operating, or education service agency — filled on 95.2% of rows.88%
gradesOfferedA comma-separated list of every grade the district reports offering, from pre-kindergarten through grade 13 plus ungraded and adult education, filled on 94.6% of rows.91%
updatedStatusThe directory's updated status for the agency at the close of the collection, using the same open, closed, new, inactive, future and changed-boundary wording as the operational status.100%
cbsaThe five-digit federal code for the metropolitan or micropolitan statistical area the district office falls in, or the letter N where it falls in none.87%
cbsaNameThe name of that metropolitan or micropolitan statistical area, blank where the office falls in none.87%
cbsaTypeThe federal geocode file's type code for the statistical area, which is 0 on exactly the 3,927 rows whose statistical-area code is N and 1 or 2 elsewhere.87%
csaThe three-digit federal code for the combined statistical area the district office falls in, or the letter N where it falls in none.79%
csaNameThe name of that combined statistical area, blank where the office falls in none.79%
congressionalDistrictThe congressional district the office sits in, written as the two-digit state code followed by the two-digit district number.100%
stateLegDistrictLowerThe state legislative district, lower chamber, containing the office, written as the two-digit state code followed by the district number, or the letter N where the state has no such district.100%
stateLegDistrictUpperThe state legislative district, upper chamber, containing the office, written as the two-digit state code followed by the district number, or the letter N where the state has no such district.100%
outOfStateFlagYes where the federal directory flags the district office as physically located outside the state that reports it, which is true of 196 rows.100%
numberOfSchoolsThe number of schools the district was operating in the 2024-2025 school year, as a count.100%
gradeRangeThe district's grade span written the way people say it, such as PK-12 or K-8, filled on 96.3% of rows.96%
lowestGradeOfferedThe federal code for the lowest grade the district offers, such as PK, KG or a two-digit grade number.91%
highestGradeOfferedThe federal code for the highest grade the district offers, such as 08 or 12.91%
enrollmentTotal students enrolled across the district in the 2024-2025 school year, as a count of students, filled on 94.2% of rows.89%
referenceYearThe school year the directory, enrolment and staffing figures describe, which is 2024-2025 on every row.100%
sourceUrlThe federal page this record was taken from, so every row carries its own citation.100%
enrollmentPreKStudents enrolled in pre-kindergarten, as a count, filled on 57.5% of rows because most districts do not run a pre-kindergarten programme.31%
enrollmentKindergartenStudents enrolled in kindergarten, as a count, filled on 82.6% of rows.82%
enrollmentElementaryStudents enrolled in grades 1 through 8 added together, as a count, left blank where any grade in that range was suppressed.87%
enrollmentHighSchoolStudents enrolled in grades 9 through 13 added together, as a count, left blank where any grade in that range was suppressed.59%
enrollmentGrade1Students enrolled in grade 1, as a count.82%
enrollmentGrade2Students enrolled in grade 2, as a count.82%
enrollmentGrade3Students enrolled in grade 3, as a count.82%
enrollmentGrade4Students enrolled in grade 4, as a count.81%
enrollmentGrade5Students enrolled in grade 5, as a count.82%
enrollmentGrade6Students enrolled in grade 6, as a count.83%
enrollmentGrade7Students enrolled in grade 7, as a count.82%
enrollmentGrade8Students enrolled in grade 8, as a count.80%
enrollmentGrade9Students enrolled in grade 9, as a count.59%
enrollmentGrade10Students enrolled in grade 10, as a count.58%
enrollmentGrade11Students enrolled in grade 11, as a count.58%
enrollmentGrade12Students enrolled in grade 12, as a count.56%
enrollmentGrade13Students enrolled in grade 13, as a count, filled on 0.8% of rows because very few states have a thirteenth grade.20%
enrollmentMaleStudents reported as male, as a count, left blank rather than set to zero where any part of the total was suppressed.89%
enrollmentFemaleStudents reported as female, as a count, left blank rather than set to zero where any part of the total was suppressed.89%
studentsAmericanIndianStudents reported as American Indian or Alaska Native, as a count, left blank where any part of the total was suppressed.89%
pctStudentsAmericanIndianAmerican Indian or Alaska Native students as a percentage of the district's total enrolment, to one decimal place.89%
studentsAsianStudents reported as Asian, as a count, left blank where any part of the total was suppressed.89%
pctStudentsAsianAsian students as a percentage of the district's total enrolment, to one decimal place.89%
studentsBlackStudents reported as Black or African American, as a count, left blank where any part of the total was suppressed.89%
pctStudentsBlackBlack or African American students as a percentage of the district's total enrolment, to one decimal place.89%
studentsHispanicStudents reported as Hispanic or Latino, as a count, left blank where any part of the total was suppressed.89%
pctStudentsHispanicHispanic or Latino students as a percentage of the district's total enrolment, to one decimal place.89%
studentsPacificIslanderStudents reported as Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander, as a count, left blank where any part of the total was suppressed.89%
pctStudentsPacificIslanderNative Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander students as a percentage of the district's total enrolment, to one decimal place.89%
studentsTwoOrMoreStudents reported as two or more races, as a count, left blank where any part of the total was suppressed.89%
pctStudentsTwoOrMoreStudents of two or more races as a percentage of the district's total enrolment, to one decimal place.89%
studentsWhiteStudents reported as White, as a count, left blank where any part of the total was suppressed.89%
pctStudentsWhiteWhite students as a percentage of the district's total enrolment, to one decimal place.89%
teachersTotalFteAll teachers in the district counted as full-time equivalents, so a half-time teacher counts as half a person.87%
teachersPrekFtePre-kindergarten teachers as full-time equivalents, filled on 75.5% of rows.31%
teachersKindergartenFteKindergarten teachers as full-time equivalents, filled on 88.4% of rows.79%
teachersElementaryFteElementary teachers as full-time equivalents, filled on 91.9% of rows.84%
teachersSecondaryFteSecondary teachers as full-time equivalents, filled on 90.2% of rows.80%
teachersUngradedFteTeachers of ungraded classes as full-time equivalents, filled on 47.1% of rows.25%
guidanceCounselorsTotalFteAll guidance counsellors as full-time equivalents, filled on 91.7% of rows.87%
guidanceCounselorsElemFteElementary school counsellors as full-time equivalents, filled on 76.5% of rows.83%
guidanceCounselorsSecFteSecondary school counsellors as full-time equivalents, filled on 76.1% of rows.80%
schoolCounselorsFteStaff the district reports under the separate school counsellor category as full-time equivalents, filled on 65.2% of rows.85%
schoolPsychologistsFteSchool psychologists as full-time equivalents, filled on 89.9% of rows.87%
teachersThe same total teacher count as teachersTotalFte, repeated under the shorter name buyers of comparable files expect.87%
studentTeacherRatioStudents per teacher, calculated as total enrolment divided by total teacher full-time equivalents and rounded to one decimal place, filled on 90.9% of rows.87%
revTotalTotal revenue from all sources, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023; the whole finance block is present on 91.8% of rows.86%
revFederalTotalTotal federal revenue, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revStateTotalTotal state revenue, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revLocalTotalTotal local revenue, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedTitleIFederal revenue received through the state for Title I, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedIdeaFederal revenue received through the state under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedCareerTechFederal revenue received through the state for career and technical education, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedSupportingEffectiveInstructionFederal revenue received through the state for supporting effective instruction, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedStudentSupportFederal revenue received through the state for student support and academic enrichment, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFed21stCenturyLearningFederal revenue received through the state for 21st Century Community Learning Centers, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedRuralLowIncomeFederal revenue received through the state for the rural and low-income school programme, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedBilingualEducationFederal revenue received through the state for bilingual education, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedChildNutritionFederal revenue received through the state under the Child Nutrition Act, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedOtherThruStateAll other federal revenue received through the state, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedImpactAidFederal revenue received directly as Impact Aid, the payment to districts with tax-exempt federal land or military families, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedIndianEducationFederal revenue received directly for Indian education, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedSmallRuralAchievementFederal revenue received directly under the small rural school achievement programme, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revFedOtherDirectAll other federal revenue received directly rather than through the state, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revStateGeneralFormulaState revenue from general formula assistance, the main state funding formula, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revStateSpecialEducationState revenue for special education programmes, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revStateCompensatoryState revenue for compensatory and basic skills programmes, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revStateCareerTechState revenue for career and technical education programmes, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revStateSchoolMealsState revenue for school meal programmes, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revStateCapitalOutlayState revenue for capital outlay and debt service programmes, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revStateTransportationState revenue for transportation programmes, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revStateOtherProgramsState revenue for all other state programmes, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revLocalPropertyTaxesLocal revenue from property taxes, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023, filled on 62.9% of rows because districts that do not levy their own tax report nothing on this line.12%
revLocalParentGovernmentLocal revenue transferred from the parent city or county government that the district is a dependent part of, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023, filled on 6.0% of rows.31%
revLocalSalesTaxesLocal revenue from general sales taxes, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023, filled on 62.6% of rows.12%
revLocalFromOtherSchoolSystemsLocal revenue received from other school systems, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revLocalFromCitiesCountiesLocal revenue received from cities and counties, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revLocalTuitionFeesLocal revenue from tuition fees paid by pupils and parents, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revLocalSchoolMealsLocal revenue from school meal sales, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
revLocalInterestEarningsLocal revenue from interest earnings, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expTotalTotal expenditure of every kind, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expCurrentElsecTotal current spending on elementary and secondary education, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023, which is instruction plus support services plus other current spending.86%
expInstructionTotal current spending on instruction, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expSupportServicesTotal current spending on support services, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expOtherCurrentElsecTotal other current elementary and secondary spending, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023, which is mostly food services and enterprise operations.86%
expCapitalOutlayTotal capital outlay, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expNonElsecTotal spending on activities outside elementary and secondary education, such as community services and adult education, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expSupportStudentsCurrent spending on support services for students, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expSupportInstructionalStaffCurrent spending on support services for instructional staff, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expSupportGeneralAdminCurrent spending on general administration, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expSupportSchoolAdminCurrent spending on school administration, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expOperationMaintenanceCurrent spending on operation and maintenance of plant — buildings, grounds and utilities — in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expStudentTransportationCurrent spending on student transportation, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expFoodServicesCurrent spending on food services, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expConstructionCapital outlay on construction, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expInstructionalEquipmentCapital outlay on instructional equipment, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expOtherEquipmentCapital outlay on all other equipment, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expSalariesTotalTotal salaries paid across the district, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expSalariesInstructionSalaries paid for instruction, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expEmployeeBenefitsTotalTotal employee benefits, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expInterestOnDebtInterest paid on debt, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
expPaymentsToCharterSchoolsPayments made to charter schools, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023.86%
financeFiscalYearThe fiscal year the whole finance block describes, which is 2023, the most recent year published, and is carried on every row that has finance data so the year is never in doubt.97%
financeFallMembershipFall membership as reported on the finance survey, the student count the survey itself uses as its denominator, filled on 89.9% of rows.88%
perPupilCurrentSpendingCurrent elementary and secondary spending for fiscal year 2023 in dollars per pupil, the district's total current spending divided by its fall membership, blank where either part was not reported.86%
perPupilInstructionInstruction spending for fiscal year 2023 in dollars per pupil, the district's instruction spending divided by its fall membership, blank where either part was not reported.86%
perPupilSupportServicesSupport services spending for fiscal year 2023 in dollars per pupil, the district's support services spending divided by its fall membership, blank where either part was not reported.86%
perPupilTotalRevenueTotal revenue for fiscal year 2023 in dollars per pupil, the district's total revenue from all sources divided by its fall membership, blank where either part was not reported.86%
impactAidRevenueThe same Impact Aid figure as revFedImpactAid, in dollars, for fiscal year 2023, repeated under the name buyers of comparable files expect.86%
receivesImpactAidYes where the district reported Impact Aid above zero for fiscal year 2023, No where it reported exactly zero, and blank where it filed no finance return at all.86%
erateFundingYearThe E-Rate funding year the single-year commitment columns describe, which is 2025 wherever the district could be matched to its E-Rate applicant record.28%
erateCommitmentsFederal E-Rate money committed to this district for the latest funding year, in dollars, present on 28.9% of rows; a blank means the district could not be matched to an E-Rate applicant with certainty, not that it received nothing.28%
erateFundingRequestsThe number of E-Rate funding requests committed to this district in the latest funding year, as a count, present on 28.9% of rows.28%
erateCommitments3yrFederal E-Rate money committed to this district across the three most recent funding years combined, in dollars, present on 31.7% of rows.28%
erateFundingRequests3yrThe number of E-Rate funding requests committed to this district across the three most recent funding years combined, as a count, present on 31.7% of rows.28%
ideaPartBStudentsStudents served under Part B of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, early childhood and school age combined, as a count for 2024-2025, present on 87.8% of rows; where a count was suppressed to protect the privacy of a small group the cell is left empty rather than set to zero.90%
ideaPartBEarlyChildhoodStudents aged three to five served under Part B of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, as a count for 2024-2025, present on 64.9% of rows and left empty where the count was suppressed for privacy.32%
ideaPartBSchoolAgeSchool-age students served under Part B of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, as a count for 2024-2025, present on 80.0% of rows and left empty where the count was suppressed for privacy.90%
ideaChildCountYearThe year the special-education counts describe, which is 2024-2025 wherever the district appears in that collection.90%
localeShareCity11The percentage of the district that sits in a large city, from the federal geocode file; the twelve locale share columns add to 100 for a district, and a value of minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
localeShareCity12The percentage of the district that sits in a midsize city, where minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
localeShareCity13The percentage of the district that sits in a small city, where minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
localeShareSub21The percentage of the district that sits in a large suburb, where minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
localeShareSub22The percentage of the district that sits in a midsize suburb, where minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
localeShareSub23The percentage of the district that sits in a small suburb, where minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
localeShareTown31The percentage of the district that sits in a fringe town, where minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
localeShareTown32The percentage of the district that sits in a distant town, where minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
localeShareTown33The percentage of the district that sits in a remote town, where minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
localeShareRural41The percentage of the district that sits in fringe rural territory, where minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
localeShareRural42The percentage of the district that sits in distant rural territory, where minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
localeShareRural43The percentage of the district that sits in remote rural territory, where minus 2 is the source file's not-available marker rather than a percentage.94%
geo_precisionHow the coordinates on this row were arrived at during cleanup — source where the federal geocode was kept as published (19,631 rows), address where the point was missing or fell outside its own state and was re-placed by geocoding the street address (3 rows), and zip centroid where only the postcode centre could be used (2 rows).100%
county_fipsThe five-digit federal county code set during cleanup from the office coordinates against Census county boundaries, with independent cities treated as their own county; it agrees with the geocode file's own county code on all but 14 rows.100%
address_qualityHow usable the street address is, checked during cleanup — complete on 19,343 rows, no house number on 291 rows where the address has a street but no number, and po box on 2 rows where the office address is a post office box.100%

Rows filled is measured on every row of the delivered file.

✓Where this data comes from

This dataset is built from the federal Common Core of Data — the NCES directory of every local education agency — joined on the LEA's own federal ID to the NCES EDGE district-office geocode, the Census/NCES F-33 school district finance survey, the Department of Education's IDEA Section 618 special-education child counts and USAC's published E-Rate commitments. Nothing is taken from a district's own website and nothing is taken from a licensed third-party product: every column traces to a file the federal government publishes. E-Rate is the one fuzzy join — USAC's own district IDs are frequently wrong, so applicants are matched on name, state and postcode instead, and the column is left empty where that match is not confident.

September 15, 2026

File built

209 fields

Columns in the file

Fill measured

On every row of the delivered file

Districts are published as the federal collection holds them. Counts suppressed at source for student privacy are left empty rather than set to zero, city spellings are corrected to the Census place name for their postcode, map points that fell outside their own state are re-placed, and every row carries the county, a coordinate-precision flag and an address-quality flag. There are no personal names, job titles or email addresses: the federal government no longer publishes the superintendent, and none is guessed.

How we build and date every file: methodology.

Using ChatGPT, Claude or an API?

No setup needed. Ask ChatGPT or Claude your question about the School Districts in North Carolina and give it this page: it can open https://locationlists.com/find?dataset=school-district-list-nc with the filters you need and show you the count and price.

Using ChatGPT or Claude? Tell it to answer from locationlists.com/find — no account, no connector.

How assistants ask

No connector needed. Any AI assistant can answer from this site with a web link, no connector, no account: open https://locationlists.com/find with the question as query parameters.

If a question needs filtering, distance, combining lists or a price, open a /find link: either put the question itself in q=, or build the structured link. The answer does not need an API, a connector or an account.

Simplest, the question itself: https://locationlists.com/find?q=<the question in plain words>

Or set the parts yourself: https://locationlists.com/find?dataset=<slug>&state=<ST>&city=<city>&county=<county>&zip=<zip>&near=<place or zip>&radius=<miles>&where=<column>:<op>:<value>&total=<rows>

Leave out what the question does not need. Distance is radius, in straight-line miles; near can name several places separated by | to reach from any of them. To ask about several lists at once, use datasets with two or more names, or category with a kind of business. To compare two lists, add relate=nearest and the other list with b. in front of its parameters. To count by area, use areas=county (or zip, state, metro). To keep only places whose county, ZIP code, metro area or state meets a Census figure, add area_where (for example county:population>1000000); with areas, per=100000 gives counts per 100,000 residents.

Links an assistant can open, each showing how many rows match, a few preview rows and the price for just that part:

Optional: connect for repeat use or wallet payments:

Read https://locationlists.com/skill.md and follow the instructions to connect LocationLists. Then show me the School Districts in North Carolina list.

Your assistant will walk you through setup and show you the price before you pay.

For developers

At 376 records this dataset is not sold by the row — buy the file. Without a connector, open https://locationlists.com/find?dataset=school-district-list-nc. An agent connected to https://locationlists.com/mcp can still search it, read a free sample file of up to 10 rows and buy the whole file itself. How agent purchasing works

?Frequently Asked Questions

How many School Districts are there in North Carolina?

There are 376 School Districts in North Carolina as of September 2026.

What is one row?

One local education agency, located at its administrative office. The coordinates are the office, not a school campus and not the middle of a district boundary — so a drive-time or radius filter gives you the place a purchasing decision is actually made.

Why 376 districts when I always hear about 13,000?

Both numbers are right and they count different things. The federal universe is 376 local education agencies, which includes supervisory unions, regional service agencies, state-run agencies and 4,213 independent charter agencies that each operate their own school. Regular public school districts that actually run schools number 13,377. Every row carries a district type column so you can cut it either way, and we also sell each cut as its own file.

What money information is in it?

Per district: total revenue split into federal, state and local; 20 separate revenue lines including Title I and the IDEA special-education grant; 22 expenditure lines including instruction, support services, transportation, buildings, equipment, salaries and benefits; per-pupil current spending, instruction and revenue; and Impact Aid, the federal payment to districts with tax-exempt federal land or military families. 91.8% of rows carry the finance block and 1,660 districts receive Impact Aid. The finance year is FY2023, which is the most recent one published, and it is on every row. One caution on the per-pupil columns: 99.17% of them land in the normal $3,000-$60,000 range, and the 142 that do not are mostly county offices of education, which spend on students across a whole county while directly enrolling a handful. Their per-pupil figure is arithmetically right and practically meaningless — sort those by total spending instead. You are never guessing which year you are looking at.

What is the special-education count?

The number of students served under Part B of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, from the Department of Education's own collection for 2024-25, split into early childhood and school age. 87.8% of rows have it. Where a count was suppressed for privacy because the group was too small, the cell is left empty rather than set to zero.

What does the E-Rate column tell me, and why is it only on some rows?

E-Rate is the federal programme that pays most of a district's internet and network bill. Where we can match a district to its funding requests we give you the committed dollars and the number of requests, for the latest funding year and for three years together. It is on 28.9% of rows. The reason it is not on all of them is that the E-Rate records identify applicants by a billing number, and the official district ID field in those records is filled in on fewer than one in ten and is frequently wrong where it is filled in — we checked, and most of the ID values that disagree with ours are not valid district IDs at all. So we match on district name, state and postcode and only keep a match that can only be one district. A blank means we could not prove the match, not that the district received nothing.

How complete are the contact details?

Street address, city, state, postcode and map coordinates on every row. Phone on 99.9%. A district website on 87.7%. A separate mailing address ships as its own columns, because a good number of rural district offices take post at a box and deliveries at a street.

What was cleaned up before you sold it?

Before selling it, we unified 233 city names that were written more than one way inside the same postcode, corrected 18 misspelled city names, standardised the capitalisation on 6,545 more, found and re-placed 5 map points that fell outside their own state, set the county and federal county code on 19,626 rows, and kept 8 records that share a name and a building but are genuinely different agencies, which a plain duplicate check would have deleted. Every row also carries an address quality flag (complete, missing house number, or PO box) and a coordinate quality flag, so you can see which rows to trust for a routing job rather than finding out later.

Is every state covered?

Yes, all 50 states plus DC and the territories are in the national file. Not every state gets its own separate file, though: **Hawaii has exactly one school district** — the state runs a single statewide system — and Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands and the US Virgin Islands have between one and five agencies each. A one-row file is not a product, so those rows live in the national file and the operating, charter and large-district cuts, and there is no standalone state list for them. Every other state has one.

Why are some cells empty?

Because the federal source says so, and we would rather show you an empty cell than a code you have to decode. Where a district sits in no metro area, the metro columns are blank rather than the letter N the source writes. Where a count was too small to publish without identifying students, it is blank rather than zero — an empty cell means not reported, never none. Where the urban/rural share was not calculated for a district, the twelve share columns are blank rather than -2. In this build we replaced 42,078 such placeholder codes across 27 columns with empty cells, so a completeness figure means what it says.

Can I match this to a list of individual schools?

Yes. Every row carries its federal district ID, which is the same ID used on every public school record, so a district file and a school file join directly with no name matching.

How often is it updated?

File built on September 15, 2026. It is not on an automatic refresh schedule, so check the build date above before you buy.

Where exactly does it come from?

All of it is United States federal government data, in the public domain: the federal Common Core of Data, the NCES EDGE district-office geocode, the Census/NCES F-33 school district finance survey, the Department of Education's IDEA Section 618 special-education counts, and USAC's published E-Rate commitments. Nothing in the file was bought, licensed or taken from another company's product.

Does this include the superintendent's name or email?

No. There are no personal names, job titles or email addresses anywhere in this file. The federal government stopped publishing the superintendent's name years ago — it is not in the district directory, not in the underlying data file, and not in EDFacts — so there is no official source to take it from, and we do not guess names or invent address patterns. If you need a named contact you will need a contact database on top of this. That absence is why this file costs a fraction of one.

Does it include school calendars, term dates or board meeting dates?

No. Term start and end dates, holidays and board meeting schedules are set district by district and are not collected in any national federal dataset. Nothing in this file is a calendar date except the reporting years, which are labelled.

Does it include COVID relief or ESSER funding?

No. ESSER money was awarded in 2020-2022 and the obligation period closed in September 2024. The Department of Education's district-level allocation tables are no longer published, and the one remaining source identifies recipients by a business registration number rather than a district ID, so there is no reliable way to attach it to the right district. We left it out rather than attach it to the wrong one.

Does it include test scores, ratings or school boundaries?

No. There is no rating, no proficiency score and no boundary polygon. District boundaries are published federally as map shapes and belong in a map file, not a spreadsheet column — ask if you want them and we will cut them as a separate file.

↔Other school districts by state lists